2017 Guest of Honor

Jan. 23, 2017: We are deeply saddened to announce that due to the passing of her husband, Mike Briggs, Patricia Briggs will not be able to attend Foolscap 2017. The Foolscap community extends its heartfelt condolences to her and her family.

![Patricia Briggs](/content/images/2016/10/PatriciaBriggs-1.png)

Patricia Briggs is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Mercy Thompson series. She lives in Washington State with her husband, children, and a small herd of horses. She has written 17 novels to date. Briggs began her career writing traditional fantasy novels and shifted gears in 2006 to write urban fantasy. Moon Called (2006) is the first book in her #1 New York Times bestselling––and signature series––about Mercy Thompson. Silver Borne (2010) debuted at #1 on the New York Times Hardcover bestsellers list; her latest, Fire Touched (2016) debuted at #2. Briggs also writes the Alpha and Omega series, which are set in the same world as the Mercy Thompson novels. For more information about Patricia Briggs and her marvelous novels, visit the author on the web at www.patriciabriggs.com.

2015 Guest of Honor

In 2015, we were joined by Ursula Vernon.

2014 Guests of Honor

In 2014, we were joined by Leonard Richardson and Brooks Peck.

![Leonard Richardson](/content/images/2014/Jan/Leonard_Richardson_150x150.jpg)

For 15 years Leonard Richardson has been at the intersection of fantastic entertainment and computer programming. It started in 1998 when he created a script to automatically remix the surreal web comic “Pokey the Penguin.” He went on to create dozens of online art projects, the screen-scraping library Beautiful Soup, and two technical books on web APIs. His short story “Four Kinds of Cargo” is included in The Year’s Best Science Fiction & Fantasy, 2013 (Prime Books). Cory Doctorow calls Leonard’s novel Constellation Games (Candlemark & Gleam) “one of the smartest, most passionate, most principled science fiction novels I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading.”


![Brooks Peck](/content/images/2014/Jan/Brooks_Peck_Foolscap2014_150x150.jpg)

Brooks Peck tells us he has difficulty focusing on his work and is often subject to distraction. A Clarion West graduate, he published stories in anthologies of the Futuristic Cats! variety. He co-founded Science Fiction Weekly, the first professional sf review website, and later served as editor-in-chief. Recently he wrote two monster movies for the Syfy Channel. Today he is a curator at EMP Museum in Seattle where recent exhibitions include Icons of Science Fiction, Battlestar Galactica, and Avatar.


2013 Guests of Honor

In 2013, our guests of honor were Michel Gagné and Nancy Pearl